With the village of Drummochy on the left and Seatoun of Largo on the right, the two villages were separated by the mouth of the Keil Burn - connected only by a rickety wooden footbridge at a point further away from the sea than the current road bridge. The chimney of the flax spinning mill (later to become Largo Oil and Cake Mill) rises up behind the Drummochy cottages, yet sits on the opposite side of the burn. The Crusoe Hotel building would still have been partly in use as a granary, partly as an inn. The harbour itself would most probably be busy with boats and often a hive of activity.
When building of the viaduct began in 1856 it must have caused quite a stir. An image of it under construction would be fascinating to see. By the time the railway opened in 1857, the villages would never be the same again.